a poem

the rain always affects me.
when im burying myself in work, not taking any time to think, avoiding anything that resembles something thoughtful…. and then it rains. somehow it forces me to stop. to remember. to think through. to cry. to accept. to keep walking with my head held a little higher.

or the times when im overthinking everything and my brain feels like it wants to scream for five years straight, and then the rain comes, the sky cries for me, with the depth that i wish i could, and the weight seems to lessen from my own shoulders as the sky fights out it’s battles.

somehow the rain always picks me up and sets me back on my feet or slows me down enough to realize, whoa. this is my one and precious life. am i gonna survive it, or truly live it. no matter what happens.

here’s a poem i wrote. if you have an idea for the title feel free to drop it in the comments 🙂

ob_8532e1_film326-v1-1280x720

 

  Hosea 6:3

when summer came i trusted God,
and firmly set my face.
i squared my shoulders, took a stand,
for i would win the race.
  the sun beat down upon my back
the desert sand was fire
red blisters cracked upon my skin
the buzzards circled higher
 there was no break, there was no shade. the water a mirage.
the weeks turned into months and still,
the good was camouflage.
  my bones were weak, my soul was torn.
the tears burned up my eyes.
weary, broken, twisted, sore,
the crickets joined my cries.
i tried to stand, i tried to fight,
a thousand years of pain.
“keep walking” was my only cry,
i could not speak Your name.
  for it was You who’d said to me,
“this path you’re on, I made.”
why would You then, send me a help,
or give to me Your aid?
  i tried again to just hold out,
to show that i was brave.
the endless desert would not give,
i was its constant slave.
  helpless, friendless, without choice,
i held onto Your hand.
i knew that You knew what was best.
You’re wiser, far, than man.
  i would not lie upon the ground,
and wait for death to come,
i’d press on, forward, evermore.
though ridiculed by some.
  but i was weary, broken down.
my head knew You were kind.
but heart began to question for,
it seemed that You were blind.
  You’ve said oh Lord, You come to those,
who fully wait on You.
i’ve waited Lord, and long to see,
what good You now will do!
  the only answer to my cry:
a stillness, real and deep.
the breeze completely disappeared,
and i began to weep.
  oh Jesus, show the world You’re good!
don’t leave me on this path.
remember the still waters part?
Lord, turn from me Your wrath!
  i opened up my eyes and saw,
the sky had turned to gray.
the sun was hidden by a mass,
of terror, thickly made.
  oh Father, now You take the light?
i stumbled in the dark.
i trust You still, but can’t i have,
even a tiny spark?
  the only answer to this prayer,
a deep and rolling sound.
horror filled my breaking heart,
i sank down to the ground.
  i, frantic, searched for Jesus hand,
not knowing i was held,
and feeling i could take no more,
i raised my head and yelled.
  and i was answered, greatly so.
the whole earth seemed to shake,
the sky above was filled with cries,
and i began to quake.
  for in that moment, i saw by,
a bolt of blinding light,
it was not sheets of deepest woe,
but clouds of heav’ly might.
  and in the desert, in the drought,
and in the deepest pain,
He had a plan, yes, He was there.
He came to us, like rain.

-the poet under the sidewalk-

Heavy rain in a desert thunderstorm over sage covered desert

“Let us know,
Let us pursue the knowledge of the LORD.
His going forth is established as the morning;
He will come to us like rain,
Like the latter and former rain to the earth.”
Hosea 6:3

yes! let us pursue the knowledge of the Lord. long to know Him. seek Him with all our hearts. and right there, it clearly says, He will come to us like rain.
He will come.
He will come.
im holding on to that promise and never, ever letting go. He will come. it doesn’t necessarily say when, only that He will. don’t grow weary, don’t grow hard.
He will come.
lets prepare our fields to receive Him.

don’t give up.<3
-maggie

 

this song.


8 thoughts on “a poem

    1. thanks for the ideas, Parker! i was considering leaving “rain” out of the title so it would come as a surprise at the end but maybe not. haven’t decided yet 👍🏻thanks again!

      Liked by 2 people

Leave a comment